NICE TO NAUGHTY

Whether you are an actor, writer, musician, or another type of creative artist,  you have been confronted with the ubiquitous word branding. Loosely defined, it describes what the public thinks of you when they hear your name or see your image. As a Seattle radio announcer, the public identified me as a soft-spoken host of a love songs dedication show. My public persona was one of a caring D.J. who offered advice on the human condition from lost love to deep sorrow, to unbridled passion. That was the perception. The reality was that I deeply listened, offered compassion, and topped it off with a song that spoke to their condition. It was a successful formula.

 

girl-1033662_1920

 

In my last blog, I spoke about my transition from radio announcer to writer. Sensuous, graphic murder mysteries poured out of me. I have no idea where these erotic stories came from. My mind delighted in the delectable tales, but those that knew me as the serene queen of night-time radio were shocked and some were less than pleased. I had blown up my branding with an M-80 and some fans are still shaking their finger at me. My brand went from nice to naughty.

woman-1143217_1920

I am willing to risk the explosion and grow as an artist. I hope to find new friends and fans of my mysteries. My book, The Radio Murders, under the umbrella of White Bird Publishing, debuts August 16th.

Here’s a brief overview:

Seattle homicide detectives Nick Winston and Pat Strom dig working together. Their lively banter gets them through the dark side of their business. After all, dead bodies dominate their workload. He’s straight, she’s gay. In politically liberal Seattle, that’s not a problem until…they both find the same woman irresistible. Suddenly their wonderful working relationship is intolerable. At the center of their attention is radio announcer, Jasmine James. Beautiful and sultry, James has a sexual appetite big enough to satisfy both detectives, but someone kidnaps Jasmine and is killing her listeners. The detectives are frantic to find Jasmine before her air runs out.

Get your copy of The Radio Murders as soon as it becomes available by completing form below.

I will also post the link to order The Radio Murders on Kelly Marshall’s Facebook Fan Page when the book is available for purchase.

One thought on “NICE TO NAUGHTY

Leave a Reply

