No More “Happy Ever After”

How many times have you heard people say, “I’m going to write a book one day?” I muttered that phrase to myself many times. I’d sit down with a legal pad in hand and start writing about love gone wrong because as a teenager that’s usually the case. Later in my thirties when I  was a bit more serious about actually finishing a project, I took a seminar sponsored by Harlequin Books and wrote copious notes about “the formula.” All romance books have guidelines about when the lovers meet, how quickly they fall in love, what obstacles they face in their relationship, and how the book should end. I tried. I really did. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But my romances always edged toward the dark side and were a shade too graphic for traditional love stories. I don’t mean this as a pun, but I required more “meat” in my stories. I came to the conclusion that I needed dead bodies to satisfy my creative side. So, I started writing murder mysteries. It’s difficult to find a storyline that hasn’t already been done. I wanted something new, something unique. I developed two characters who are Seattle homicide detectives. Nick Winston is a charismatic fellow who is more than a little politically incorrect. He’s dark, he’s dreamy, and women press their phone numbers into his hand. He has been known to  “kiss and tell.”

His partner, Pat Strom is his polar opposite. Pat is gay and keeps her private life very secret. Trouble erupts in The Radio Murders when both cops fall head over heels for bisexual radio star, Jasmine James. And so my venture into the dangerous underbelly of murder mysteries began. I became hooked on love and death. Winston and Strom worked together again in 6 White Roses when they searched for the killer of six-year-old Emily Chatburn.

In Winston and Strom’s new adventure, Kiss the Girls and Make Them Die, the detectives investigate the death of a young University of Washington student, Kylee Harris. The young woman is stabbed numerous times and a portion of her sexual organ is excised and shoved in her mouth. Her long, luxurious hair is shorn and wispy pieces are left at the crime scene. The detectives struggle to lock down a motive for her tragic death and in the process discover an elite club where lesbians meet monthly for exotic food, chamber music and sex far away from the prying eyes of the public. Three more grisly deaths follow and the Pacific Northwest is once again in the grip of terror as a serial killer haunts the Puget Sound. Kiss the Girls and Make Them Die. March 28th from White Bird Publications.

grace-marshall-customdesign-jayaheer2017-banner1

2 thoughts on “No More “Happy Ever After”

Leave a Reply

