JUST A TASTE

grace-marshall-customdesign-jayaheer2017-banner1

I am excited, anxious, as nervous as an expectant mother about to give birth. My new book Kiss the Girls and Make Them Die debuts March 28th. I love my two main characters, Seattle homicide detectives Nick Winston and Pat Strom. They’re as comfortable with each other as a long-married couple, but just like in marriage, tension can get tight. Here’s a taste of Kiss the Girls and Make Them Die.

Driving to Kylee Harris’s autopsy, Nick’s stomach roiled and gurgled audibly. Strom turned to him and smiled bigger than Julia Roberts. “Bring your Phenergan suppositories? I hear they help with nausea.”

Nick bit back his sarcastic reply. Instead, he said, “I got this.”

Strom snorted. “Yeah, you got this. I’ll tell Carter to have a bucket handy.” She snapped her gum and Nick jerked. “Man, you are jumpy. What gives?”

Sweat beaded on his forehead and he wiped it away with a quick brush of his hand. “You know you are the least empathetic cop I know. I thought as a woman you’d be less of an asshole about this.”

“Don’t get your panties in a wad. I’m just having some fun. You should see your face when Carter revs up that saw and cuts off the top of the head. You literally turn green. It’s not a good color for you.”

“You wait. Your turn’s comin’.”

“Nick, you’re always jerking me around about being gay. You know I let a lot slide. This is my way of keeping the score even. If you need someone to hold your hair back while you puke, I’m your girl.”

Nick pulled into the parking garage, shoved the car into park, and turned it off.  “You’d have to have your dick cut off before you could be my girl.”

Strom turned her head and gave him the glare. No words were needed. Her eyes narrowed, her lips became a pencil-thin straight line and her jaw twitched with restrained anger. She slammed the car door and the noise reverberated in the concrete space.

Nick jogged to catch the elevator but the door hissed closed on Strom before he could jump inside.

He caught up with her inside the cool lobby of the King County Medical Examiner’s office. She had just finished signing in the guest log when Nick walked through the glass doors. In the interest of peace, he apologized. She didn’t look back or acknowledge his presence.

“How long are you going to stay angry this time?”

“I’ve got the memory of an elephant,” she snapped back.

He refrained from dishing out another zinger and forced a smile. “Sometimes, I’m an asshole.”

“You think?” Strom barreled through another door that led to the autopsy rooms. Nick caught it before it slammed back in his face.

Kiss the Girls and Make Them Die is available for pre-sale now on Amazon. If you show me a receipt for the pre-sale, I’ll give you a free copy of The Radio Murders through March 27th. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XBR46LV

Radio Murders

Leave a Reply

